cartoons

IMG_20160119_152702.jpg

Cartoons. I’m going to assume we all watch cartoons. I surely do. The Simpsons, Family Guy, South park, Futurama, various anime, American Dad, Loony Tunes. It doesn’t bother me. I love ‘The Fairly Odd Parents’ and ‘Spongebob’ too. Cartoons can incorporate adult humour that generally goes unheeded by the young until they watch it again years later. Take ‘Ed, Edd n Eddy’ for my first example.

I remember an episode when ‘Double D’s’ parents head out of town, they leave sticky notes to the wall with instructions. Instructions like, Feed the cat, wash the dishes and ‘Don’t play with yourself’ just within the far side of the frame to the left. Remember this is a kids show and the innuendo is clearly targeted at adult viewers. That just one fine example.

The wild Thornberry’s is my second example. And it’s the man himself, Nigel who often breaks out naughty one liners that go straight over the kids heads, but not the adults. One time Mary-Anne was having a bit of a wardrobe problem, limited clothing after a mishap in a river takes all her garnets, and Nigel makes a reference to how he prefers her without underwear. My ears nearly fell off, I can’t believe I missed all this gold when I was younger. There is a certain level of Commentary unheeded by kids, but thrills and momentarily shocks the adults. It’s brilliant. Very, very clever. Well played Nigel. And Nigel is my favourite character ever. Always so positive and upbeat, ‘Smashing Mary-Anne (‘s sweet pussy’ is how I like to think he finishes the statement in his head). Yes, I’m a little (fully) perverted myself.

Right now, I’m so tired I cant think of any other examples but thanks for reading guys and dolls. This happy blogger is off to bed. 2:08am. Sweet dreams beckon. I remember my dream from last night now, and I remember I was trying to fight a shark, I woke up when I successfully sleep kicked all the stuff off the top of my washing basket and punched my cd player. I can only imagine if I was sleeping next to someone else and if she copped it haha. Brutal sleep attack. Farm used thrash, it was super effective. The enemy washing basket fainted.

 

Leave a Reply

